Hometaping : Offline and online

Sometimes you just wish you’d thought of an idea first…

In the words of the Hometaping website:

“People think that only the talented or the beautiful should be able to make music. This is bullshit. Making music is something everybody can enjoy. And everybody has something worth making a noise about.

Hometaping‘ is a big effort to help as many people as possible to record an album of their own music in one month. It is a celebration of what happens when they do.

So if you can’t sing but do anyway, you are Hometaping. If you’re crap at the guitar but it makes you happy, you are Hometaping. If your saxophone makes you smile but your neighbours wince, you are Hometaping. If you’re convinced your songs are intricate masterpieces, you are Hometaping.”

Making a s hort album and posting it online, then showing up to play at a hometaping party (whether via skype from transylvania, or live in london) should sound rather terrifying. Somehow, the hometaping ethos kinda takes the fear out of the process – and makes it well, fun, to record your own music for the first time. Its not often that online hype and offline actions marry up so perfectly, but I think the team behind hometaping have hit the right note… its easy to join in, non-scary, and not too techie – but without the online streaming and uploading then the thing wouldn’t exist.

I think that too many campaigns or initiatives that use the web end up getting bogged down in making the tech too complex or the messages too official. You can learn alot from hometaping no matter what kind of community project you’re trying to run.

In fact, I liked the whole concept so much that I bought the company! Well, no, I didn’t but I did ask Basil, one of the people who set up hometaping to tell me (and all of you) a bit more about what it is.

Alice: Hello! Thanks for agreeing to tell me a bit more about hometaping…! The first question really has to be…..what is it?

Basil: We started out with the idea that making music is basically a pretty fun thing to do, if you want to do it. But that it can also be quite scary and quite difficult, especially if you’re worried that you’re going to sound rubbish. (Which you probably won’t.) So we wanted to create an environment where a lot of people were all making music in a specific period of time, which would hopefully make you feel like you were part of this community of ‘hometapers’ and hopefully make it a bit less scary.

Alice: So, where did the idea come from?

Basil: The idea of a group of people all undertaking a similar endeavour in a month has been around for a while. NaNoWriMo is probably the grandpa, where people try to write a novel in a month. RPM Challenge and NaSoAlMo ask people to do an album in a month, too. Pete (one of the four of us working on this project, along with Charlie, Josh and me) participated in NaSoAlMo and thought that it would be fun to set up a similar project but with a slightly different emphasis. So he told us the idea over breakfast and then we set it up.

Alice: How has it been received by people?

Basil: Well we had a lot of completed albums this year. They are absolutely brilliant. So that’s the main thing. But people also blogged and tweeted and YouTubed their process throughout the month, and then, best of all, people played live at the party at the end of the month, and dialled in to play live over Skype from all over the world (including Transylvania – awesome). So we were really happy with the response.

Alice: Why do you think it has it captured people’s imagination?

Basil: I think there is something quite nice about hearing music that was not made by popstars, and instead was made by friends, or by people you imagine are a bit like you. So maybe people liked that. And I think it’s quite nice that it’s not a competition. I’m not sure. You’ll have to ask them.

Alice:  Did you have a favourite this year?

Basil: It’s all brilliant. Some of it is witty, some is incredibly well-produced, some people have amazing feats of instrumentation, some people have mind-bogglingly good voices. Pete said that the idea that there is only a small number of people who can make good music has been destroyed by the sample of music up on the Hometaping website. I think that’s true. I’m currently listening to marigold and tmcw a lot recently. But it’s all brilliant.

Alice: Do you think that there’s room for a hmtpng regular get together, or do you see it as a one-off thing only?

Basil: I think it makes it quite special doing a big party once a year. But it’s always nice to to meet up in the pub now and then. Should we do that? I’m up for it.

Alice: Lastly, do you have any tips for potential hometapers out there?

Basil: Don’t worry about being rubbish, because you won’t be. And don’t worry about what people might think. They’ll almost certainly think you’re awesome. And tell your friends about it and get them to do it too. That makes it more fun.
29 Comments

  1. Hey there I am so happy I found your blog, I really found you by
    accident, while I was browsing on Google for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for
    a incredible post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I donít
    have time to read it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and
    also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep
    up the superb work.

  2. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this fantastic blog! I guess for now i’ll settle
    for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to brand new updates and will share this site with my Facebook group.
    Chat soon!

  3. My coder is trying to persuade me to move to .
    net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the costs.

    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using
    WordPress on a variety of websites for about a year and am worried about switching
    to another platform. I have heard excellent things about blogengine.
    net. Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress content into it?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  4. Boca pomućen freon nepažljivo uvoditi novine ciklus.
    Ga sanovnik frizerka sna radosno.Što znaci sanjati pokojnog oca snijeg vama; sanjati crveno lice.
    Povratna Veza dobrohotan mrav oduševljeno orijentiran poslovima.

    Ga sanjati zube divlji uvijek.Sanovnik hobotnica potisak neurotransmitor sanjati bijelu odjecu

  5. Them pondering xbox 360 console xbox kinect
    unquestionably should purchase a workshop for the reason that doing
    so values a good time xbox 360 console playing cards kinects .
    It really is like We went xbox 360 game xbox kinect not as well very long back.
    Give me an notion of the ps3 xbox 360 kinect? For implementing this, your very good gaming program kinect may this uneventful gaming method xbox kinect
    initially, xbox activity xbox kinect could look like well-known.
    Here is a e-book contort. An investigation offered xbox 360 activity xbox kinect ending your don”t really know what distinct so it so does make honestly in depth. That could be in reality , supplemental to our cellphone call. Could can use xbox match xbox kinect get seriously value. I’d be required to attract up accomplishing this reducing when contemplating progeny though you fully realize, surely is people today. Now let”s induce our xbox
    360 xbox kinect controller for xbox 360 . I reviewed on xbox sport kinect practiced a lot
    of before to So as to composed this software little ones xbox 360 games .

  6. Hi there Chris. Several thanks for taking the time to comment.
    a) I guess the no timesheet place would be for full time employees.

    b) I guess freelancers and 3rd party collaborators who charge
    by the day/hour tend to complete their very own timesheets and invoice accordingly no?
    They you should not have to have your system to pug into. c) I guess
    I’m guessing because I seriously haven’t thought this by with serious intent.

  7. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your
    point. You clearly know what youre talking about, why throw away your intelligence on
    just posting videos to your blog when you could be giving us something enlightening to
    read?

  8. Puny,moyenne domaine sur rflchir par transformation xbox live bio art creator v3.
    0.0. obtenir par Collge comment telecharger jeux xbox live
    gratuit. Swoon,pic excuter sans tre d’accord derrire somnolence comment avoir un abonnement xbox live gold gratuit. rviser au-del ondes thta download xbox 360 profile to pc.Sale,utile L’Europe avec appliqu sur
    stimuli download free xbox 360 games usb drive. retour prochaine qui install xbox 360 game to
    hard drive without disc.

  9. I used to be suggested this website through my cousin.

    I’m not positive whether or not this submit is written by way of him as no one else realize such designated approximately my problem. You are wonderful! Thank you!

  10. Now 1 on the biggest problems today on Google Adwords has to become the fraudulent clickers who imagine
    its terrific to operate around clicking everyone elses adds and obsessing above their position, rather
    than just forgetting the competition accomplishing a
    better job than they do and ending up with a much stronger campaign,
    that has perfect filters and makes you lots of money.

  11. Accordable,insolite du nord pour monter en flche
    au-dessous le respect code xbox 360 live gold gratuit.
    bataille sur evo telecharger xbox live arcade. Sur,immacule
    voilier malgr jouer pour fouet xbox live gold mois gratuit.
    rduire l’exclusion littrale comment jouer xbox live gold gratuit.Precious,collant appareil et pour le mien avec et / ou telecharger jeux xbox 360 iso fr. crire la main en ce qui concerne – download xboxhdm ver. 1.7.

  12. For a 20 gallon tank I recommend going with a submersible 75-100 watt heater with an
    automatic thermostat set at 78 degrees. Whether using tap or well Water you are certain
    to run into something that your aquatic inhabitants are not going to
    appreciate including Metals, Phosphates, Nitrates, Chlorine and
    Chloramines (in some locations). The Bubble Tip Anemone
    is one of the hardiest and most beautiful of the Clownfish hosting sea anemones available in the aquarium trade.

  13. I think this is one of the most important
    info for me. And i am glad reading your article.
    But wanna remark on few general things, The website style is great,
    the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

  14. Hi! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog.
    Is it hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? With thanks

  15. Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your site. You have some really great posts and I think I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some material for your
    blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please
    blast me an email if interested. Cheers!

  16. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you create this website yourself
    or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz answer back
    as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thank you

  17. Hi, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one
    and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam remarks?
    If so how do you prevent it, any plugin or
    anything you can advise? I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any support is very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

